Kitchen Watcher Search

Kitchen Watcher earns a commission when you buy through links on this page. It never changes what we recommend or how we rank it. How we make money

Moccamaster KBGV Select Review: Hot Plate, Problems, Specs

Moccamaster KBGV Select review: what TechGearLab, TechRadar and Tom's Guide measured, hot plate temps, owner problems and the SCA list question.

By Maksud · Published

The short answer

A fast, simple, long-warrantied glass-carafe brewer that Tom's Guide and TechRadar rate highly, but TechGearLab found uneven bed saturation, it has no programming, and its SCA certification does not appear on the SCA's current list.

Strengths

  • Brews a full 10-cup carafe in about 6 to 6.5 minutes, per NBC Select, TechRadar and Tom's Guide
  • 5-year warranty plus repairs for the life of the brewer, per Technivorm and Tom's Guide
  • Drip-stop basket stops the flow when you remove the carafe, per Technivorm and NBC Select
  • Half or full carafe switch, per Tom's Guide and Technivorm
  • Consistent between brews: TechGearLab measured a 2-second brew-time deviation

Weaknesses

  • Not programmable and no delay brew, per TechGearLab and Tom's Guide
  • Uneven water distribution left a rectangular divot in the coffee bed, per TechGearLab
  • Thin plastic carafe handle and no measurement marks on the carafe, per TechGearLab
  • No dishwasher-safe parts, per TechGearLab and TechRadar; the reservoir is not removable, per NBC Select and Tom's Guide
  • Carafe, outlet arm, brew basket and hot plate get hot enough to burn, per NBC Select

The Moccamaster KBGV Select suits people who brew a full or half pot at once and want a long warranty. Tom’s Guide and TechRadar praise its speed, roughly six to six and a half minutes a pot, and its 5-year warranty. Skip it if you want delay-brew, a thermal carafe or dishwasher-safe parts; TechGearLab also found uneven bed saturation and a flimsy carafe handle. It sits in our best coffee makers hub.

My verdict, from the sources below: a simple brewer with a strong warranty and readily available spare parts. The independent evidence on cup quality is split, and the SCA claim does not check out on the SCA’s own list.

KBGV Select specs and what reviewers measured

The first six rows are Technivorm’s own figures from its US product page. The rest were measured by the reviewer named in each row. TechRadar and Tom’s Guide both reviewed the UK version (sold as the KBG Select), which keeps the hot plate on for 40 minutes instead of 100. Their numbers come from that model.

AttributeMoccamaster KBGV Select valueTypeSource
Capacity1.25 L, 40 oz, 10 cupsManufacturer specTechnivorm product page
Power1475 W, 120 VManufacturer specTechnivorm product page
Dimensions14.00 H x 12.75 W x 6.50 D inManufacturer specTechnivorm product page
Weight6.00 lb (Tom’s Guide lists 6.3 lb)Manufacturer specTechnivorm product page; Tom’s Guide
Hot plate auto-off100 min (US); 40 min (UK/AU per TechRadar)Manufacturer specTechnivorm product page; TechRadar
Warranty5 yearsManufacturer specTechnivorm product page
Full-carafe brew timeAbout 6.5 min (half batch about 4 min), UK modelThird-party measurementTom’s Guide
Full-carafe brew timeAbout 6 minThird-party measurementNBC Select
Full-carafe brew timeJust under 6 min (half carafe 3.5 min), UK modelThird-party measurementTechRadar
Temperature fluctuation between brews2.5 degrees, unit not stated (most stable models: 0.47)Third-party measurementTechGearLab
Brew-time deviation between brews2 secondsThird-party measurementTechGearLab
Coffee temperature in carafe181°F at pour, 171°F at 30 min, 136°F at 60 min, UK modelThird-party measurementTechRadar
Brewing noiseAbout 50 dBThird-party measurementTechRadar
Descale cycle timeAbout 25 minThird-party measurementTechGearLab
Measured brew-water temperatureNot publishedNot publishedNone of the sources read

Price: $369 at Technivorm’s US store on Oct 3, 2026 for most colors; $389 for Candy Apple Red and Brushed Gold.

Brew temperature and speed: measured vs claimed

The brew temperature you see quoted everywhere is a claim, not a measurement. Technivorm’s product page says its brewers hit the 196-205°F Golden Cup range every cycle, and Coffeeness repeats that range.

Tom’s Guide says the copper element heats water to 196-208°F, without saying it measured that. NBC Select gives 196-205°F and attributes the 205°F figure to Technivorm.

TechGearLab measured consistency rather than absolute temperature. It brewed five back-to-back pots and found an average fluctuation of 2.5 degrees between brews; the most stable models it compared varied 0.47 degrees. TechGearLab does not state the unit.

It called the temperature nearly industry-standard but did not print a number. None of the sources I read published its own measured brew-water temperature.

Speed is the one point every source agrees on. A full carafe takes about 6 minutes per NBC Select, just under 6 per TechRadar, and about 6.5 per Tom’s Guide. TechGearLab measured only a 2-second variation in brew time from one pot to the next, and found very similar pH between fresh coffee and coffee 2 hours after brewing.

Cup quality is where reviewers split. Tom’s Guide and TechRadar praise the coffee. TechGearLab scored brew quality 5.6 of 10 and the machine 48 of 100 overall, and said other machines cost less and make better coffee.

Moccamaster KBGV hot plate temperature and the 100-minute auto-off

NBC Select reports the hot plate holds 175 to 185°F, depending on how much you brewed. Coffeeness gives the same range. Neither says it measured this, so treat it as an unverified figure. Technivorm’s product page says only that the plate has an independent heating element, and gives no temperature.

The US KBGV turns the hot plate off after 100 minutes, per Technivorm’s product page, NBC Select and TechRadar. UK and Australian versions shut off at 40 minutes, per TechRadar. TechRadar notes you can flick the power switch back on to keep it warm longer, though it also says coffee left on a hot plate for hours turns bitter.

The only measured carafe temperatures come from TechRadar’s UK model. The coffee was 181°F right after pouring and 171°F at 30 minutes. At one hour, 20 minutes after that model’s plate had switched off, it was down to 136°F. A US machine’s plate would still have been on at that point, so don’t read 136°F as the US one-hour figure.

Sources describe the bottom switch differently. NBC Select calls it a hot plate control: low for 2 to 6 cups, high for 8 to 10. Technivorm’s current page calls it a full or half carafe selector that adjusts the brewing process, and Tom’s Guide, TechRadar and TechGearLab describe it the same way. Moccamaster USA’s own entry in the SCA Best New Product Awards says it does both: the switch adjusts saturation time and hot plate temperature.

Moccamaster KBGV Select problems reviewers report

These are the problems I found, each with its source. No source gives a failure rate, and I did not find an owner-review breakdown I could open, so the evidence on how often each one happens is thin.

Is the KBGV Select actually SCA certified?

It is not on the SCA’s current list. Technivorm’s product page calls the KBGV SCA certified and SCA approved. Tom’s Guide calls it SCA-approved, TechRadar says it meets the SCA “Gold Cup” standard, and NBC Select says all Moccamaster brewers are SCA certified.

The SCA’s Certified Home Equipment list, fetched October 3, 2026, names brewers from OXO, Fellow, Breville, Bonavita, GE and others. No Technivorm or Moccamaster model appears. The SCA’s October 10, 2023 news post announcing the KBGV Select’s certification returned a 404 error on the same date.

The SCA page says certification carries a three-year licensing period, so a 2023 certification may have lapsed, or the list may be incomplete. I can’t confirm either, so I don’t call it certified. For what the badge means, see what an SCA-certified coffee maker is.

Warranty, repairs and descaling

Technivorm gives a 5-year warranty and says its technicians will repair any Moccamaster for the life of the brewer. Tom’s Guide notes those lifetime repairs come with a small fee. Coffeeness says the warranty covers manufacturing defects but excludes the carafe and removable parts. TechRadar says spare parts are readily available.

Technivorm’s product page says to descale every 100 cycles, or at least every three months; TechRadar and Coffeeness give the same interval. Tom’s Guide says Technivorm recommends every 3 months or so in hard-water areas. TechGearLab timed a descaling cycle at about 25 minutes. For the steps, see how to descale a coffee maker; for what to use, see vinegar vs descaler.

What “Moccamaster 53941” means

53941 is the SKU for the Polished Silver KBGV Select, per the variant data on Technivorm’s US store. Each finish has its own number: Matte Black is 53948, Juniper 53923, Ocean 53632. It is the same machine in a different color. On Oct 3, 2026, most finishes listed at $369 on Technivorm’s US store; Brushed Gold and Candy Apple Red listed at $389.

Who should skip the KBGV Select

If you drink coffee slowly over a morning, a glass carafe on a hot plate is the wrong design. See Moccamaster KBT vs KBGV Select for the thermal version, and thermal vs glass carafe for the general trade-off.

If the price is too much, the OXO Brew 8-Cup is on the SCA’s current certified list. If you want a timer to brew before you wake up, look at the programmable Ninja CE251. Both are ranked in the best coffee makers hub.

Check KBGV Select prices at Amazon

More on the KBGV Select and drip coffee makers

Frequently asked questions

How hot does the Moccamaster KBGV hot plate keep coffee?

Between about 175 and 185°F, according to NBC Select and Coffeeness, which both give the range without saying they measured it. TechRadar measured the coffee itself on the UK model: 181°F right after pouring, 171°F at 30 minutes, and 136°F at one hour, after that model's 40-minute hot plate shutoff. US models keep the plate on for 100 minutes.

Does the Moccamaster KBGV Select turn off automatically?

Yes. Technivorm lists auto-off at 100 minutes for the US KBGV, and NBC Select and TechRadar say the same. TechRadar says UK and Australian versions switch off after 40 minutes. TechRadar also says you can flick the power switch back on if you want the hot plate to keep running longer.

Is the Moccamaster KBGV Select really SCA certified?

It is not on the SCA's current list. Technivorm, Tom's Guide and NBC Select all call it SCA certified or approved, but the SCA's Certified Home Equipment page, checked on October 3, 2026, lists no Technivorm or Moccamaster model. The SCA's October 2023 news post announcing the KBGV Select's certification returned a 404 error on the same date.

What is the Moccamaster 53941?

It is the Polished Silver KBGV Select. Technivorm's US store lists 53941 as the SKU for that finish. Every color has its own number, such as 53948 for Matte Black and 53923 for Juniper. They are the same machine. On October 3, 2026, Technivorm's US store listed most finishes at $369 and Candy Apple Red and Brushed Gold at $389.

Is the KBGV Select programmable or does it have a delay timer?

No. TechGearLab lists not being programmable as a con, and Tom's Guide says there is no delayed brew start. The machine has two switches: power and a half or full carafe selector. Tom's Guide suggests the Breville Luxe Brewer or the Smeg Retro Brewer if a delay timer is a must.

Price watch

Daily price history and drop alerts for the Technivorm Moccamaster KBGV Select 10-Cup Coffee Maker (glass carafe, 53941) start once our tracker is live.

Sources

  1. techgearlab.com/reviews/kitchen/drip-coffee-maker/technivorm-moccamaster-kbgv-select
  2. tomsguide.com/reviews/technivorm-moccamaster-kbgv-select
  3. techradar.com/reviews/moccamaster-kbgv-select
  4. nbcnews.com/select/shopping/moccamaster-coffee-maker-review-rcna171847
  5. sca.coffee/certified-home-brewer
  6. us.moccamaster.com/products/kbgv
  7. new.sca.coffee/entries/kbgv-select-moccamaster-usa
  8. coffeeness.de/en/moccamaster-review

Get new guides and recall alerts by email

About once a month. Unsubscribe in one click. Privacy