Kitchen Watcher Search

Kitchen Watcher earns a commission when you buy through links on this page. It never changes what we recommend or how we rank it. How we make money

How Long Do Fire Extinguishers Last? Dates, Gauges, Refills

Disposable home extinguishers are replaced 12 years from manufacture or after any use. How to find the date, read the gauge, and when to recharge.

By Maksud · Published

An old-style fire extinguisher mounted on a home kitchen wall next to a spice rack and a clock
An old-style extinguisher on a home kitchen wall in Metairie, Louisiana. Check the date and gauge on any unit you inherit (illustrative). Photo: Infrogmation of New Orleans / Wikimedia Commons, CC BY 2.0.

How long do fire extinguishers last? A disposable (non-rechargeable) fire extinguisher comes out of service 12 years after its manufacture date, not its purchase date. That’s the NFPA 10 rule as summarized by FireServicePro, and Kidde’s disposable manual and Consumer Reports give the same 12 years. Replace one sooner after any use, a low gauge or damage. Rechargeable units have no fixed end date in the sources we read but need professional service.

Everything here comes from standards summaries, manufacturer manuals and government guidance. Nobody at Kitchen Watcher serviced an extinguisher for this page; see how we research.

Fire extinguisher lifespan and service intervals by type

These are intervals stated by the sources, not our measurements. The NFPA 10 figures come from FireServicePro’s secondary summary, which cites the 1998 edition, so check the current NFPA 10 before relying on edition-specific details.

Extinguisher typeRechargeable?Replace / remove from servicePeriodic service intervalHydrostatic test intervalAfter any useSource
Disposable dry chemical with needle gauge (e.g. Kidde disposable models)No: never recharge, modify or alter12 years from manufacture dateVisual check at intervals not over 31 days; weight and date check at least yearlyNone: removed from service at 12 years insteadReplace promptlyKidde disposable manual; NFPA 10 via FireServicePro
Disposable dry chemical with push-to-test button (e.g. First Alert FESA5)No: “NOT rechargeable”When the button stays down; 12 years from manufacture date under NFPA 10Inspect and test once a weekNone: removed from service at 12 years insteadDischarge fully and replaceFirst Alert FESA5 manual (manufacturer spec); NFPA 10 via FireServicePro
Rechargeable stored-pressure dry chemical (e.g. First Alert FE5GR, FE10GR, FE1A10GR)Yes, by a certified fire equipment dealerNo fixed end date in the sources readDealer service once a year; emptied and maintained every 6 yearsEvery 12 yearsRecharge, however much was usedFirst Alert rechargeable manual (manufacturer spec); NFPA 10 via FireServicePro
Pressurized water, CO2 and wet chemicalNot stated in the sources readNo fixed end date in the sources readAnnual maintenance by an approved servicerEvery 5 yearsNot stated in the sources readNFPA 10 via FireServicePro

The 6-year item is maintenance, not a routine recharge. The FireServicePro summary says stored-pressure units that need a 12-year hydrostatic test, such as dry chemical, must be emptied and maintained every 6 years by an approved servicing company. It also notes that the 2007 edition of NFPA 10 added a rule for dry chemical extinguishers made before October 1984. Those come out of service at the next 6-year maintenance or hydrostatic test, whichever comes first.

How to find the manufacture date on the cylinder

Kidde’s support page says the bottom of the unit may have a two- or four-digit number stamped into the cylinder, or the date may be printed directly on the cylinder. Its example of a printed code is 1205322062:

That decoding is Kidde’s. For other brands, check the owner’s manual for how the date is marked.

Don’t confuse the warranty with the lifespan. Kidde’s disposable manual gives a 6- or 12-year warranty from the purchase date, with 12 years only on listed models such as the KD57W-5BC and MAR series. First Alert’s manuals give 10 years from purchase. Neither is a service-life figure.

How to read a fire extinguisher gauge or push-to-test button

On a needle gauge, green means pressurized. First Alert’s rechargeable manual says a yellow pointer in the green area means the unit is ready. Consumer Reports says an arrow below the green zone means pressure has dissipated and the extinguisher should be replaced, and that on most extinguishers a needle in the red means it needs recharging or is overcharged. Consumer Reports doesn’t recommend buying an extinguisher without a gauge.

First Alert’s wording on red is mixed. One line of its rechargeable manual says the unit “should be replaced”, while a warning box says it “may still be pressurized, but must be recharged”. Either way, a red reading means the unit isn’t ready.

Button-style disposables work differently. The First Alert FESA5 manual says to press the green button on the cap. If it pops back up, the unit is pressurized; if it stays down, it has lost pressure and must be replaced.

A green gauge doesn’t override age. Kidde’s refill page says an extinguisher is still good if the needle is in the green/full area and the manufacture date is less than 12 years ago; it takes both. FireServicePro adds that a gauge in the normal range is not a 100 percent guarantee the extinguisher will perform, since a small discharge may not move the needle.

How often should you check a fire extinguisher at home?

This list follows the monthly visual inspection in the Kidde disposable manual and the maintenance list from the U.S. Fire Administration:

  1. The extinguisher is visible and nothing blocks access to it.
  2. It is properly mounted and secure.
  3. The label’s operating instructions face outward and are legible.
  4. The pull pin and tamper seal are intact.
  5. The gauge needle is in the green.
  6. The nozzle or hose is attached and not clogged.
  7. No dents, rust, leaks or other damage. USFA also says to wipe off dust, oil and grease.
  8. Heft or weigh it against the gross weight on the label.
  9. Date and initial the inspection tag.

Kidde says any problem in steps 4 to 8 means the extinguisher must be discarded and replaced. Problems in steps 1 to 3 are to be corrected, for example by relocating it or cleaning the nameplate. The sources disagree on frequency. Kidde sets intervals not over 31 days, Consumer Reports says every 30 days and the NFPA 10 summary says monthly, while both First Alert manuals say once a week.

Disposable vs rechargeable extinguisher: which do you have?

The label tells you which you have. First Alert’s FESA5 manual states it is “a disposable device that is NOT rechargeable”, and Kidde’s disposable tag reads “discard and replace immediately after use”. The FireServicePro summary lists markings such as “Discharge and Dispose of After Any Use” or simply “Non-rechargeable” as the way to identify a non-rechargeable unit. If the label doesn’t say, check the owner’s manual, as Consumer Reports suggests.

Kidde’s manual says never to modify, alter or recharge a disposable model, and First Alert’s FESA5 manual says not to service or repair its disposable unit under any circumstances. First Alert’s rechargeable manual says its units can be recharged by a certified fire equipment dealer “regardless of how much of the content was used”. It says a dealer should service them once a year. The same manual says not to service or repair it yourself.

Why does one short squeeze end a disposable’s life?

Kidde’s disposable manual says “even only a momentary discharge will cause leakage” and the extinguisher may later not operate. It also warns never to test an extinguisher by partially discharging it. First Alert’s manuals say not to check the pressure by squeezing the lever even briefly, because once used a unit will gradually lose pressure and won’t be fully charged in an emergency. After any use, replace a disposable and recharge a rechargeable.

What shortens a fire extinguisher’s life?

Both First Alert manuals say to mount the unit where the temperature stays between −40°F and 120°F, and never close to an engine, stove or other heat source, because it could rupture or explode above 150°F. Kidde recommends at least 4 in of floor clearance to help air circulation and avoid corrosion. For which extinguisher to put in a kitchen, see what fire extinguisher for a kitchen.

When to replace a fire extinguisher right away

This list combines Kidde’s disposable manual and the NFPA 10 summary. For a rechargeable unit, the same gauge, seal, damage and weight problems call for full maintenance by a servicer rather than the trash, per the FireServicePro summary.

How do you dispose of an old fire extinguisher?

First Alert’s manuals say to discharge a used unit completely outdoors with it turned upside down, then dispose of the empty unit properly. They also say never to puncture or burn one, even when empty. Neither manual defines “properly”, so ask your local fire department or waste authority what they accept.

Do homeowners have to follow NFPA 10 service rules?

FireServicePro presents the NFPA 10 schedule (monthly inspection, annual maintenance by an approved servicer, and records) in terms of facilities and business owners. Kidde’s manual says units bought to meet local fire code may need annual maintenance by certified people, and some jurisdictions require annual tags. None of the sources says a homeowner must follow that schedule, but the 12-year and after-use rules apply to the hardware either way.

When should you use an extinguisher instead of leaving?

An in-date extinguisher is no guarantee a fire goes out. USFA says to use one only when others have been alerted, someone has called the fire department, you’re physically able, and the fire is small and contained to a single object or surface. You also need to be safe from the toxic smoke and have a clear escape route. USFA adds that young children and older adults should not use extinguishers, and that if you’re unsure, you should alert others, leave and call 911. For technique, see how to use a fire extinguisher and how to put out a grease fire.

More on kitchen fire safety

Frequently asked questions

Do fire extinguishers expire?

Disposable ones effectively do, though the sources we read describe a manufacture date rather than a printed expiration date. NFPA 10, as summarized by FireServicePro, removes non-rechargeable stored-pressure units from service 12 years after manufacture. Kidde's disposable manual and Consumer Reports give the same 12 years. Rechargeable units have no fixed end date in these sources but need annual professional service.

Is my extinguisher still good if the gauge is green but it is over 12 years old?

No, not if it is disposable. Kidde's support page says that if the gauge needle is in the green/full area and the manufacture date is less than 12 years ago, the extinguisher is still good. Both conditions matter: a green needle shows pressure, not age. A disposable unit past 12 years from its manufacture date should be replaced even when the gauge looks fine.

Do I need to replace a fire extinguisher after using it just once or briefly?

Yes, if it is disposable. Kidde's disposable manual says even a momentary discharge will cause leakage and the extinguisher may later not operate, and it says to replace the unit promptly after any use. First Alert's manuals say a used extinguisher will gradually lose pressure. A rechargeable unit goes to a certified dealer for recharging, however little was used.

How do I find the manufacture date on my fire extinguisher?

Check the bottom of the cylinder and the label. Kidde's support page says the bottom of the unit may have a two- or four-digit number stamped into the cylinder, or the date may be printed directly on the cylinder. In Kidde's example code 1205322062, the eighth and ninth digits, 06, are the year, so that unit was made in 2006.

How often should I check a home fire extinguisher?

At least monthly, or weekly if you follow First Alert. Kidde's disposable manual sets visual inspections at intervals not exceeding 31 days, Consumer Reports says every 30 days, and NFPA 10 as summarized by FireServicePro calls for monthly inspection. First Alert's home and auto extinguisher manuals both say to inspect once a week.

Sources

  1. usfa.fema.gov/prevention/home-fires/prepare-for-fire/fire-extinguishers
  2. fireservicepro.com/Fire-Extinguishers/NFPA-10-portable-fire-extinguisher-tests-inspections.html
  3. shareddocs.com/hvac/docs/2001/Public/08/User-Guide-Kidde-Dry-ChemicalF.pdf
  4. kidde.com/support/fire-extinguishers/fire-extinguisher-refill
  5. kidde.com/support/fire-extinguishers/fire-extinguisher-info
  6. firstalertstore.com/store/images/pdf/home1-first-alert-rechargeable-home-fire-extinguisher-ul-rated.pdf
  7. forestriverinc.com/files/Component-Manuals/Safety/First%20Alert%20-%20Fire%20Extinguisher%20Model%20FESA5%20User's%20Manual.pdf
  8. consumerreports.org/home-garden/fire-extinguishers/buying-guide

Get new guides and recall alerts by email

About once a month. Unsubscribe in one click. Privacy